Gounod. Mozart. Strauss

Orchestral series A


Dvořák Hall Rudolfinum
náměstí Jana Palacha 79/1, Praha 1


CZK 900 | 760 | 580 | 390 (SL/E*) | CZK 150 (ST*)
Donor’s ticket CZK 3 000
*SL/E partial view and organ gallery above the stage
*ST standing

Individual tickets are available from June 14th, 2021.

Buy a subscription



Richard Strauss
Serenade in E flat major Op. 7 TrV 106
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Clarinet Concerto in A major KV 622
Charles Gounod
Symphony No. 2 in E flat major

Mozart's only clarinet concerto

At the penultimate concert of our orchestral series, we feature another phenomenal soloist, Andreas Ottensamer, the famous principal clarinettist of the Berlin Philharmonic. He will perform the magnificent Clarinet Concerto in A major by Mozart, his only concerto for this instrument premiered only two months before the composer’s death. The fact that its premiere took place in Prague is also of particular interest to Praguers.

While Mozart wrote this concerto at the end of his life, the opening composition of the evening, Richard Strauss’s Serenade in E flat major, came into being at the very beginning of Strauss’s successful composing career. He had just turned seventeen when he created his serenade for a chamber ensemble, consisting only of wind instruments.

The winds will also get increased attention in the last piece of the program. In his lightweight, optimistic Symphony No. 2, Charles Gounod gives a lot of space to woodwinds, which provide the symphony with a unique color.

This symphony, which reflects Gounod’s fascination with his immediate German predecessors such as Mendelssohn and Schumann, is one of the most popular orchestral works by this composer, known more for his operatic output.

Andreas Ottensamer & Kammerakademie Potsdam

With support
Hl.město Praha
Ministerstvo kultury
General partner
Komerční Banka
Principal partner
General media partner
Česká televize
Principal media partner
Hospodářské noviny
O2 universum