25th anniversary season
orchestral series A

Wagner. Brahms. Berlioz

Wagner. Brahms. Berlioz

Closing Concert of the 26th Season

Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde WWV 90
La mort de Cléopâtre H 36
Symphony No. 4 in E minor Op. 98

Stéphanie d‘Oustracmezzosoprano
Emmanuel Villaumeconductor


Patron of the concert: Martina Bálková — bassoon

CZK 1 300 | 900 | 700 | 500 (SL) | 200 (ST) | donor's ticket 3 000 CZK | This concert is available in KOMBI subscription

the concert will finish at 10 pm

Wagner. Brahms. Berlioz: The War of the Romantics

The season started in a grandiose manner and so it will end in grand style. The programme linking Wagner, Berlioz and Brahms is in effect a reconstruction of the ‘War of the Romantics’, the biggest musical dispute of the 19th century. It was a clash between the conservatives – traditionalists led by Johannes Brahms on one side and the Wagnerians, defending their innovative approach and above all the idea of programme music on the other side. The closing concert in the Orchestral series (A) will present works that are emblematic of the two approaches. The unusual chord opening of the Overture to Wagner’s opera Tristan and Isolde is a symbol of the traditional harmony in crisis, to this day it is called ‘Tristan’s chord’. The last symphony by Johannes Brahms, the Symphony No. 4 in E minor is, on the other hand, an ingenious piece of traditional structure that, in addition, refers to the past with a quote of a theme by Johann Sebastian Bach. Between the two rivals stands Hector Berlioz’s cantata La mort de Cléopatre. The enthralling monologue by the Egyptian Queen who reflects on what she had lived through will be performed by the renowned mezzo-soprano and specialist on Berlioz’s music, Stéphanie d’Oustrac.

Richard Wagner: Prelude from Tristan und Isolde

with support
general partner
principal partner
general media partner
principal media partner