25th anniversary season

Escualo Quintet

The Escualo Quintet is unique in Czech chamber music as it is the only ensemble which specializes in the Argentinian Tango Argentino and the styles of Tango Típico and Tango Nuevo. Since its formation in 2011 this original ensemble has been very successful both in the Czech Republic and abroad. It has appeared at numerous international music festivals (Český Krumlov, Antonín Dvořák Music Festival in Příbram, Festival Mitte Europa Bayern-Bohemia-Sachsen, Pilsen Festival of Hispanic Culture) and as part of the Czech Philharmonic chamber series. One of its greatest achievements was when it was awarded patronage and acknowledgment by the Embassy of Argentina (2015). In terms of its instruments, the Escualo Quintet is identical to the quintet of the Argentinian musician and composer Astor Piazzolla, whose composition Escualo (The Shark) also gave the group its name.

Jakub Jedlinskýbandoneon 
Pavel Kudelásekviolin
Petr Benešelectric guitar 
Ivan Vokáčpiano
Jan Prokopdouble bass *

* member of PKF – Prague Philharmonia


with support
general partner
principal partner
general media partner
principal media partner