25th anniversary season

Kalabis Quintet

The Kalabis Quintet was formed in 2012 by students from the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague under the educational guidance of Štěpán Koutník. The group consists of Zuzana Bandúrová (flute), Jarmila Vávrová (oboe), Anna Sysová (clarinet), Kateřina Kmínková (bassoon) and Adéla Triebeneklová (horn), and it participated at the international music courses of the International Summer Academy in Semmering (Austria) in August 2014, at which he received two special awards: the Viktor Kalabis Award and the prize for best performance of a composition by a contemporary Czech composer. Afterwards, the quintet gave a successful performance of a composition by Iša Krejčí at a gala concert at the home of Vienna's ORF. Some of the group’s other main successes include 1st prize at the Karl Ditters von Dittersdorf International Competition in Vidnava (2014) and 3rd prize at the 8th Wind Quintet International Competition in Marseille — the ConcoursInternational de Quintette à vent — which took place in February 2015. In the autumn of 2017, the Kalabis Quintet appeared as part of concert series by the composer’s association Convergence, where it premiered the piece Landscape: HypnoticPulsation by Tomáš Pálka.

Zuzana Bandúrováflute
Jarmila Vávrováoboe *
Anna Sysováclarinet
Denisa Beňovskábassoon
Adéla Triebeneklováhorn *

* member of PKF – Prague Philharmonia
with support
general partner
principal partner
general media partner
principal media partner